Connecticut Legal Funding
Fast Pre-Settlement Loans in Connecticut
Are you a resident of Connecticut with a pending personal injury lawsuit?
A protracted legal case in the state of Connecticut could leave you short on funds, unable to afford necessities like food, mortgage payments, and other living expenses. Nova Legal Funding is here to help, providing you with immediate financial support within 24 hours.
The complicated nature of personal injury cases in Connecticut means it can take months, or even years, for you to receive a settlement. Unfortunately, insurance companies often use delaying tactics to persuade cash-strapped clients into accepting a lower payout than they’re entitled to. As such, many personal injury plaintiffs in Connecticut turn to lawsuit loans for financial assistance until they receive a payout.
Nova Legal Funding offers a superior alternative to lawsuit loans in that our cash advances are wholly non-recourse. Our clients are not required to pay any funds back if they lose their case, meaning our pre-settlement loans carry no financial risk. You can apply for lawsuit funding in Connecticut at any point during your case.
Connecticut Lawsuit Funding Requirements
To apply for pre-settlement funding in the state of Connecticut, all we need from you is your name, phone number, and your attorney’s contact information.
- No Credit Necessary – Your credit history will not be inspected by a Nova Legal Funding specialist.
- Straightforward Application – The majority of the application process solely involves Nova Legal Funding and your attorney.
- Risk-Free Cash – You are only required to pay back funds if you win the lawsuit. If you lose, you will owe nothing to Nova Legal Funding.
Laws and Regulations of Lawsuit Funding in Connecticut
Important Connecticut Legal Information
|Avg. Funding per case from Nova Legal Funding||$20,244
Nova can fund anywhere from $500 up to $2,500,000 depending on case value.
|Fault Laws||Modified Comparative Fault
If a particular defendant is uncollectable, their portion of damages may be reapportioned among the
remaining defendants – in the same portion as their share of the liability. C.G.S.A. § 52-572(h).
|Statute of Limitations||2 years Conn. Gen. State. Sec. 52-584|
|Minimum policy limits for bodily injury & property damage||$25,000 bodily injury liability per person
$50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$25,000 property damage liability per accident
$25,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per person
$50,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per accident
|Minimum UIM auto insurance limits||Liability: 20/40/10 (effective Jan. 1, 2018: 25/50/25)
UM/UIM BI: 20/40
|Workers compensation eligibility||Eligible|
Connecticut courts have been reluctant to incorporate the torts of champerty and maintenance into civil law, meaning there are no legal restrictions against lawsuit funding.
That said, certain funding agreements could fall foul of rules regarding the professional conduct of lawyers in Connecticut. According to Rule 1.7(a)(2) of the Rules of Professional Conduct, a conflict of interest could arise if a lawyer was “materially limited by . . . a personal interest” —e.g. the lawyer’s own financial position—when encouraging their client to take a funding deal. A lawyer does not contravene these rules simply by advising their clients about third-party funding agreements, however. As long as the advice does not impair the lawyer’s ability to advise their client on alternative courses of action, it remains ethical. Therefore, lawyers can comply with these rules simply by disclosing if they have an interest at stake.
Here at Nova Legal Funding, we provide financial assistance and share in the proceeds should a client win. Whilst we may receive updates on your case, we play no role in your legal strategy, nor the terms of your settlement, so exercise no control in the case whatsoever.
Connecticut Personal Injury Law: How Does it Affect Legal Funding?
The statute of limitations for personal injury cases in Connecticut gives the injured individual two years from the date of the injury to file a lawsuit against the offending party. Past that point, it is unlikely that the courts will hear your case, meaning you forfeit your rights to compensation. If a government or government entity is potentially responsible for your injury, you have even less time. A city or council body must be notified of your claim within six months of the injury, whilst you must inform the State Claims Commissioner of your intent to sue the state within one year.
Connecticut follows a comparative fault rule, meaning damages are reduced or eliminated in instances where the injured party is also to blame for their injury. So, say you were involved in a car accident and found to be at 10% fault due to your own speeding, your total damages would be reduced by 10%. If you were found to be more than 50% responsible, however, you lose your right to compensation entirely.
Unlike other states, Connecticut does not have any damage caps for injury cases. Punitive damages are available in medical malpractice injury cases, although these are limited to the costs of the case and the attorney’s fees.
When it comes to car accidents, Connecticut is a fault state, so those injured in a crash have multiple routes of redress. They can either pursue an insurance claim with their own coverage, file a claim on the other driver’s policy, or opt for a personal injury lawsuit in civil court. However, the comparative negligence rule again applies if both parties involved in the accident are responsible. Under this system, drivers must carry the following minimum amounts of liability coverage at all times:
- $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $25,000 property damage liability per accident
- $25,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per person
- $50,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per accident
Once these policy limits are exhausted, your own insurance will have to cover the excess costs. Connecticut General Statute Section 38a-336 also mandates that all drivers have uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This covers you if you’re injured by an uninsured motorist, a driver whose bodily injury liability limits are below your own, or you’re involved in a hit-and-run incident. The required coverage is:
- $25,000 per person
- $50,000 total per accident.
If you’re found to be driving without car insurance in Connecticut, you could face a fine of $200 or more. Failure to reinstate coverage after this can lead to the suspension of your vehicle registration, and you’ll likely be barred from registering any vehicle in the state.
Notable Personal Injury Lawyers in Connecticut
There are a huge number of personal injury lawyers in Connecticut who would be happy to take on your case:
53 East Avenue, Norwalk, CT, 06851
Adele R. Jacobs
1087 Broad Street, Ste. 400, Bridgeport, CT 06604
96 Oak Street, Hartford, CT 06106
Anthony A. Piazza
112 Prospect Street, Stamford, CT 06901
Tara Leigh Knight
2 Lincoln St, New Haven, CT 06510-1264
Alan Scott Pickel
1700 Bedford Street, Stamford, CT 06905
Car Accident and Fatality Statistics in Connecticut
Connecticut’s hectic roads unfortunately lead to a growing number of accidents. The latest figures from the U.S. Department of Transportation‘s Fatality Analysis Reporting System show that there were 260 fatal crashes in Connecticut in 2017, causing 278 deaths. This equates to 7.7 deaths per 100,000 of the population, and 1.21 deaths per 100 million vehicle miles travelled. Of these incidents, 41% were car occupants, 17% were pickup and SUV occupants, whilst 21% were motorcyclists. 59% of the drivers killed in 2017 were drunk-driving.
Here at Nova Legal Funding, we offer pre-settlement loans in Connecticut for the following types of accident:
- Pedestrian accident
- Car accident
- Tractor trailer accident (truck accident)
- Bus accident
- Bicycle accident
- Motorcycle accident
Beyond personal injury and auto accident lawsuits, we have the skills and experience to provide legal funding for plaintiffs of all types of cases in Connecticut. Get in touch with our team today for a free case evaluation, and for more information about the benefits of a Connecticut lawsuit loan.
How do I know if I qualify for lawsuit funding in Connecticut?
As a general rule, if your accident occurred within Connecticut and you sustained significant injuries, you automatically qualify for a free and quick application.
Is it a lawsuit loan or cash advance?
Although often referred to as a lawsuit loan, the cash provided by Nova Legal Funding is actually an advance against your eventual lawsuit settlement. The cash advance is considered non-recourse, which means that if you lose your case there is no requirement to pay back the money. We only collect if you win your case or obtain a settlement. No win, no fee.
Does it matter how I spend the lawsuit funding?
There is no restriction on how you spend your lawsuit cash advance. The funding is there to provide financial support, whether that means paying off debts, covering mortgage payments or simply helping with daily living expenses.
Apply For Legal Funding in Connecticut Now
Get in contact today for a free case evaluation, so we can tell you how much pre-settlement funding in Connecticut you could be entitled to.